Work in progress – Mermaids

An etching of a mermaid reclining on the sea-bed, holding up a mirror to a passing fish.

Having returned to last year’s summer work, I’m now again working on mermaids. Last year’s crafting on this topics employed textiles; this year, I’m working in another medium that seems to be going well, though I won’t know for sure until the last stage of production (so I’ll say more about this another time). As is often the case, crafting in conjunction with research has stimulated a few ideas – and even brought me back to a field of archaeological theory that I thought I’d done with!

While conceptual frameworks will probably not interest many, this work has brought me to I many sources that’ll more likely entertain; and if all goes well, this will make for an enjoyable educational resource. It’s certainly been fun in the making, so far!

I’ve settled on the theme that’ll bring the research and crafts together, but (as with the crafts), the ‘reveal’ had probably be best left until nearer the time. All I can say for now is that it’ll be in the form of an exhibition (possibly a travelling exhibition), in which the crafts will have a central role. And

I may approach potential host organisations when completed; though I have a few ideas of how I may make this accessible to the public more directly, so I’ll perhaps first see how that plays out, next year.

I’ll be returning to ‘winter work’ soon (possibly a little earlier than usual, to enable completion of Halloween material that I’ve been working on for some time), which I’ll say something about soon.

Leave a comment